Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen Zone

By: Paul Buckley

January 31, 2024

The Schengen Zone is set to welcome Bulgaria and Romania, marking a significant evolution in the European travel landscape. Effective from March 31, 2024, this expansion will streamline cross-border movement in Eastern Europe, offering a more seamless travel experience for millions. Travelers flying or sailing from other Schengen countries into these new member states will soon enjoy the convenience of passport-free entry.

Both countries have been full members of the European Union (EU) since 2007 but have so far not been part of the border-free Schengen Zone. As such, all travellers have been required to show passports or national identification upon entry.

However, it's important to note that the transition is a step-by-step process. Initially, land border checkpoints will continue to operate, requiring travelers to present identification. According to the European Council, “A new decision will have to be taken in order to set a date for the lifting of controls at land borders.”

For frequent and prospective travelers, this expansion brings convenience and opportunity. As we approach a new-look Schengen Zone, it's essential to stay informed about the evolving travel protocols and to appreciate the broader implications of this enlargement.

This development is more than just a change in border control procedures; it's a reflection of the Schengen Zone's commitment to fostering unity, accessibility, and mobility among its member states. The inclusion of Romania and Bulgaria not only expands the geographical scope of the zone but also enriches the cultural tapestry of the region, offering travelers a more diverse and enriching European experience.

Back to Blog

CIBTvisas Monthly Update

Get the CIBTvisas Monthly Update for the most recent information on travel requirements and consular closings.

Sign Up Now